reverb10: Community

Where have you discovered community, online or otherwise, in 2010? What community would you like to join, create or more deeply connect with in 2011?

My first big discovery happened about three months ago as I attended a professional public talk arranged by an organisation I recently became a committee member of. I usually find professional networking events daunting and plain horrible! Never knew what to talk about in the breaks and always was the first to leave. This time everything was so different! People were extremely interesting, they had things to say that I could relate to and I could contribute to our conversations and everything was so effortless. May be because the topic was a bit more academical rather then plain business or task oriented, and may be I just found “my place” … It felt great!

A community that I discovered online recently is the scrapbook community of creative people from all over the world, currently all working to the same deadline and the same starting point – The December Daily 2010. I hope to go on to another project and then another – I really, truly enjoy it!

What do YOU think?

