Roundup for January

You might remember  that part of my Documenting Life Project was to write a monthly round-up that will later work as journalling for each month. So here is my first round-up for January!

  • What books and/or magazines did I read this month?
  • I started with several layout and design related books, in particular The Non-Designer’s Design Book by Robin Williams. Then I ordered and read books that inspired me to start up my own projects: my parenting journal (The Creative Journal for Parents: A Guide to Unlocking Your Natural Parenting Wisdom) and my own Happy Book ( The Happy Book: A Journal to Celebrate What Makes You Happy). Currently I am re-reading my baby-whisperer book about toddlers (Secrets of the Baby Whisperer: How to Calm, Connect and Communicate with Your Baby)

  • What new things have I learned about?
  • I’ve learned a lot about typography and how to combine different types on the same page, I’ve created my very first collage, I’ve learned a lot about working with Photoshop Elements and actions!

  • What fun things did I do with my family and/or friends?
  • With Nigel we had two nice grown-up days when we went out to a cinema, to go to a restaurant and shopping:-) Haven’t done much else though

  • What important/interesting did happen to my family this month?
  • I’ve spent three days in the hospital anticipating a premature labour but it all went well in the end and I am back home, counting weeks until it’s safe to have a baby. We took our house off the market – the prices here a ridiculously low and we would lose out if we sell now. Instead we are staying put and might consider renting a bigger house once I go back to work after my maternity leave.

  • What special or unusual purchases did I make?
  • Both Nigel and I had several hundred pounds gift vouchers and instead of spending money on something luxurious for ourselves… we bought pans and pots

  • What illnesses or health concerns did I have?
  • Well, nearly going into labour will probably count as a health concern… Oh, and I got a proper belly belt to support my growing bump. It really helps! I wasn’t anticipating it being so good – it improved my quality of life for the months to come dramatically! Oh and Henry had his BCG jab. The nurse was worried he would cry and kick as the jab suppose to be quite painful but Henry was tough – not a sound! My very brave boy:-)

  • What were my accomplishments this month?
  • I think the biggest one could be summed up under “Srapbooking”. I’ve learned and applied so many new skills – it’s unbelievable, considering that I haven’t known 90% of it just a two month ago.

  • What were my disappointments this month?
  • More of a shock rather than a disappointment was my tax bill for the last year! It was so much of a shock that it convinced my accountant to have a look again. Stay tuned – I will have an update in February!

  • How did I do on my goals for the month? (Or any current short or long-term goals)
  • well, I am blogging every day – very pleased with this! I am behind on my Happy Book and in danger to fall behind on my Parenting journal – less good; I’ve learned something about iPhoneography – very good… I am really plagued by all sorts of technical issues – printer not working, camera still not have been repaired after being there for a month! I am so limited in everything I want to do!

  • Anything else noteworthy to include?
  • Still looking for a nanny. We found one in December but I am convinced she won’t stay with us for log and am trying to find a better candidate but actually all I can see is a great number of horrible candidates – it is so frustrating!

     

    What do YOU think?

    