Pumpkin Coconut and Chili Soup

I am not at all into whole food movement but I love a good, easy and comfort food type recipe. And this is one of those yummy comfort foods. And as I read that you could freeze it – I loved it! Perfect recipe to cook for my two little gourmets!

This recipe is from Martyna Candric’s e-book “My Wholefood Philosophy” (available for iPad and Kindle) from the Wholesome Cook blog. The book is a great start for anyone who wants to know more about what the wholefood is about. After I read through the recipes in Martyna’s book I actually felt compelled to change the way we cook. Martyna makes wholesome cooking sound like a very easy, reasonable, and tasty way of eating and living. Her recipes are all very easy to make. I feel a little bit more of a “good mom” when cooking from her No-More-Junk-Food cookbook.   The book has something for everyone: gluten-free, dairy-free, vegetarian, vegan… Just a few recipes for each of those options: enough to give it a go and see if you like it!

Ingredients:
1.2 kg pumpkin (I took butternut squash)
1 carrot
1 teaspoon powder ginger
1 liter of vegetable / chicken stock
1 red chilli
165ml coconut cream
1 tablespoon of vegetable oil

Directions:

  1. Peel carrot and pumpkin. Cut into 5cm chunks.
  2. Heat 1 tbsp oil in a large stock pot over medium─high heat. Add pumpkin and carrot and cook, stirring, for 2 minutes or until
  3. lightly browned.
  4. Add 1 liter stock, along with ginger and chilli and allow to simmer for 20 minutes or until vegetables are soft. Take the soup off the heat and blend, using a stick blender.
  5. Mix in coconut cream and heat until the soup comes back up to the boil. Turn off heat and set aside.

In the original recipe you then are told how to make lovely croutons but I stopped right here and served my pumkin soup with fresh french bread. Boys loved it!

One thought on “Pumpkin Coconut and Chili Soup

  1. Hey Anastasia! You’ve got a whole assortment of delicious recipes (this may be my favorite). I’m def. going to bookmark this site as I prepare to do a lot more home-cooking (wish me luck ;0 ).

    I don’t know if you eventually plan to create a service or product based off your passions (something we specialize in helping people do at MI), but there’s a lot of marketing strategies out there that can get you front of the right audience and build your social proof.

    One thing we’ve been doing a lot at Manifest Income is using the power of forum marketing. It’s worked wonders in establishing us as authorities in multiple marketers, and all it takes is a little timing and a good answer.

    My partner Matt wrote about it on FPM: http://www.firepolemarketing.com/2013/05/03/forums-firestarter/

    Would love for you to stop by and give us your 2 cents.

    Anyways, just extending a virtual handshake, looking forward to more delicious recipes in the future, if you ever need any help, stop by MI and let us know!

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    Like

What do YOU think?

